Students Den


Movie Reviews


"City News"

YSR sworn in as AP CM for 2nd Consecutive term
YSR is the first Chief Minister to be sworn in for a second consecutive term after serving a full five-year tenure.
YSR is the 14th chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
22nd swearing-in ceremony of Chief Ministers since the formation of the State

                                                                    (Photos by RSJ Thomas)

Hyderabad|India|May'2009: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the second consecutive term on 20th of May.The historic ceremony was held at the LB stadium here in city.

This is the first time in over 30yrs that a congress leader in the state has been sworn in as the chief minister for the second consecutive term. Kasu Brahmananda Reddy too was the Chief Minister for two consecutive terms from 1964 to 1967 and again from 1967 to 1971.

Though Mr. Chandrababu Naidu led the Telugu Desam government for two terms consecutively, his first term lasted four years and the second four-and-a-half years. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy, Channa Reddy, Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy were the other Congress Chief Ministers who served two terms but not consecutively.

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was the first who served from January 11, 1956, to January 10, 1960 and YSR is the 14th Chief Minister of the State.The other CM of AP were Damodaram Sanjeevaiah, Kasu Brahmananda Reddy, P.V.Narasimha Rao, Jalagam Vengal Rao, Marri Channa Reddy, T.Anjaiah, Bhavanam Venkatram, Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy, N. T. Rama Rao, N. Janardhana Reddy and N. Chandrababu Naidu.

Telugu Desam founder N. T. Rama Rao was sworn in Chief Minister four times, first in 1983, then in 1984, a month after he was dethroned by Nadendla Bhaskar Rao, again in 1985 and then in 1994.

YSR thanked the people of AP for electing the congress back to power.On the occation he signed two files to increase the Rs 2 -a-kg rice quote from 20Kg to 30 kg a family and extending the duration of free power supply to the farm sector from 7hrs to 9hrs a day.


AP General Election 2009 Results
Candidates wise votes polled for all 294 Assembly constitiencies in AP
Candidates wise votes polled for all 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in AP
Prominent Winners & Losers

Reachout's News Bureau
 May' 2009



This site is conceived, designed, and maintained by ReachoutHyderabad.com.
 All rights reserved world wide. Copyright  1999- 2009. Mail your queries to reachouthyderabad@yahoo.com
Neither ReachoutHyderabad.com, nor the sources it obtained the information from, are responsible for the correctness /validity of the information in these pages. It is a collection of both facts and opinions. You are advised to verify all information with a reliable source before acting on it. This disclaimer applies to all pages of ReachoutHyderabad.com
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without written permission of  ReachoutHyderabad.com is prohibited.