Students Den


Movie Reviews


"City News"

Young and Child Scientists presented Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society Research Awards

Hyderabad|India|July'2011: With an aim to identify and nurture scientific talent in young students both at School and University level, Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society which has been established to preserve basic research and scientific talent in Basic Sciences presented the 11th Annual Dr. K.V. Rao Research Awards in city. Scientists under 30 years of age, who are either registered for Ph.D. in any University/deemed Universities in A.P. or working in any Research organizations in Andhra Pradesh were given away awards. The awards were given in four categories viz. Mathematics, Biological Sciences, Physics and Chemistry & Allied Sciences.

The Dr. K.V. Rao Research Award in Mathematics category was bagged by Mr. Penugurthi Murali of Andhra University, Visakhapatnam for his research work on “Multiple Symmetric Positive Solutions for Two - Point Boundary Value Problems on Time Scales ”. Ms. Rajeswari Mulakalapalli of University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad bagged the award in the Physics category for “Detection of ultra-slow processes through NMR relaxometry: Application to Liquid Crystals ” research work. The award in the Biological Sciences category went to Ms. Kavitha Alapati of Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur for her work on “Studies on bioactive compounds produced by Nocardia levis MK-VL_113 and Streptomyces tendae TK-VL_333 ”. Mr. N. Chandrasekhar of University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad won the Award in Chemistry and Allied Sciences category for his research work on “Fabrication of multi-dimensional (0 to 2-D) shape-defined functional nano-structures derived from diverse p- conjugated back-to-back coupled ligand molecules and their applications”.

Apart from the above Winners, First and Second Runner-Ups and Special Awards were also given. The awards consists of cash prize of Rs 20,000/- and a trophy to the winner and a cash prize of Rs 10,000/- and a trophy to runners-up in each category. A total of twelve awards were presented in this Young Scientist Award category. The Society received more than fifty applications from various Universities and Research organizations in AP, including IICT, CCMB, LV Prasad Eye institute, CDFD, University of Hyderabad, Osmania University, Andhra University, Sri Krishnadevaraya University, SV University, JNTU, Hyderabad, Vikram Simhapuri University, Kakatiya University and NIT, Warangal. The awardee candidates are selected by an eminent jury of scientists.

Dr. J.S. Yadav, Director, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad; Prof. A.K. Susheela, Executive Director, Fluorosis Research and Rural Development Foundation, New Delhi and Prof. T.V. Krishna Reddy, Member Secretary, Andhra Pradesh Council of Science and Technology gave away the awards.

Child Scientists Mr. Y Manideep, D A V Public School, Visakhapatnam District; Ms. Ch Shanti Angel, VP & GSM High School, Guntur District; Ms. P Shruti, Zilla Parishad Govt High School, Srikakulam District; Ms. B Pavani, L R G Aided High School, Anantapur District; Ms. B Divya, Zilla Parishad High School, SPS Nellore District and Ms. G Harika, Zilla Parishad High School, Nizamabad District bagged Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society School Talent Awards for their Project work on various topics.

The winners of a Science Quiz conducted by Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society for School Children of classes 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th in four major cities of Andhra Pradesh viz. Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and Tirupati were presented the Annual Science Award. The award was won by the team comprising of Mr. Syed Murtuza Hasmi & Mr. Sai Shasank Reddy of Little Flower High School, Abids, Hyderabad.

The society plans to organise exhibitions, set up science laboratories for students and interaction with other institutions as part of diversifying its activities in future. The society is also planning to institute awards in more fields of education, informed Ms. K. Ratna, Joint Secretary, Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society.


This site is conceived, designed, and maintained by ReachoutHyderabad.com.
 All rights reserved world wide. Copyright © 1999- 2011. Mail your queries to reachouthyderabad@yahoo.com
Neither ReachoutHyderabad.com, nor the sources it obtained the information from, are responsible for the correctness /validity of the information in these pages. It is a collection of both facts and opinions. You are advised to verify all information with a reliable source before acting on it. This disclaimer applies to all pages of ReachoutHyderabad.com
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without written permission of  ReachoutHyderabad.com is prohibited.