Students Den


Movie Reviews


H y d e r a b a d  W a t c h

 First Telugu Cine‘Maa’ Awards 2002 presented

ANR - Star of the Millennium, Chiru - Best Actor, Nag - Hero of the Year, Dasari - NTR’s Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Hyderabad: First Telugu Cine‘MAA’ Awards for the year 2002 were presented  at a special awards function organized at Hitex Exhibition Grounds at Madhapur. The Awards were presented in a  total of 36 categories which included Best Film, Best Choreography, Best Director, Best Debut Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Debut Actor, Best Debut Actress, Best Screen Play, Best Editing, Best Story Writer etc.

Dr. Akkineni Nageshwara Rao was given ‘Star of the Millennium Award’, Mr. Dasari Narayana Rao ‘NTR Lifetime Achievement Award’; Mr. Chiranjeevi ‘Best Actor Award’; for ‘Indra’, Mr. Nagarjuna ‘Hero of the Year Award’; Ms. Aarti Agarwal, ‘Best Actress Award’ for ‘Indra’. Best Film awarded was bagged by ‘Indra’. ‘Best Supporting Actress’ was bagged by Ms. Sangeeta for Khadgam; Best Supporting Actor by Mr. Prakashraj for Khadgam; Best Comedian by Mr. Bramhanandam for Manmadhudu; Best Debutant Actress by Ms. Rakshita for her role in Idiot; Best Debutant Actor by Mr. Nitin for his role in Jayam. Ms. Kalyani won the Critics Best Actress, while Mr. N.T.R Jr. won Critics Best Actor Award. Mr. Nagarjuna is said to have got highest number of women votes polled.

These awards were judged by popular votes polled in by the audiences. Over 50 lakh ballot was polled in through super bazars, theatres, music shops, restaurants and through MAA Channel. The survey was jointly conducted by MAA TV and Rythm Media Works. Awards were also presented to technicians such as Cinematographer, Art Director, Choreographer, Fight Master etc. Critics Awards and Viewers Special Appreciation awards too were given in few categories.

The Event was conceived and organized by Rythm Media Works, the awards were presented in a glittering function in a leisure atmosphere. The Whole film industry including Mr. Chiranjeevi, Mr. Nagarjuna, Mr. Srikanth, Mr. Akkineni Nageshwara Rao, Mr. Dasari Narayana Rao, Mr. Murali Mohan, Mr. Ravi Teja, Ms. Sangeeta, Ms. Kalyani, Mr. Mohan Babu, Mr. Ashwini Dutt, Mr. Allu Arvind participated and graced the function.

The Awards polled and judged by public was first of its kind of mega private awards function organized in the state on a scale of Filmfare awards. It will be an annual event to be held every year. It is sponsored by Jet Silver Force Mat and aired live by Maa TV. The action packed four and half hours awards distribution function had several cultural programs and dance performances by several Tollywood artists such as Ms. Ankita Zhaveri, Ms. Sangeeta, Ms. Shreya, Mr.Aakash, Pop singer Ms. Smitha and Mallu & Pappu Group. All the dance performances were based on the telugu popular numbers from early 1940 to 1990. These numbers include "Lokam Pokada Teliyani Vada’; Eru waka sagaro ranno chinnanna’; ‘O basti dorasani’; ‘Luv luv me nerajana’, ‘Bale bale magada voyee’, ‘Masaka masaka cheekatilo’, ‘Aaku chatu pinde thadise’ etc and others. Other two interesting numbers include Pop numbers ‘Mum mum maa yavvadi mogaltooru, maa nannadi palakur ‘ and compilation of songs from dubbed films such as ‘Chayya, chayya’, Shakalaka baby’ etc. were instant hit with the audience. Nearly ten thousand people witnessed the awards function.

Ms. Jhansi,the favourite of satellite channels and Mr. Devishree Prasad, ace music director made the programmes lively and very interesting with their anchoring abilities.

Reachout's News Bureau

More 'Hyderabad Watch'......

This site is conceived, designed, and maintained by ReachoutHyderabad.com.
 All rights reserved world wide. Copyright © 1999- 2008. Mail your queries to info@reachouthyderabad.com
Neither ReachoutHyderabad.com, nor the sources it obtained the information from, are responsible for the correctness /validity of the information in these pages. It is a collection of both facts and opinions. You are advised to verify all information with a reliable source before acting on it. This disclaimer applies to all pages of ReachoutHyderabad.com
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without written permission of  ReachoutHyderabad.com is prohibited.